Nav Mataye

The Goddess Durga is a supreme deity. She can embodiment herself in different forms. She manifested her energies in nine forms.

These nine forms are called Navdurga. All the nine forms of Goddess Durga possess different traits and energies such as strength, beauty, change, wrath, generosity, fear and power.

Energy is the rudimentary source of indiscernible force which maintains and sustains this universe.

‘Nine forms of Goddess Durga’

  • Shailputri
  • Brahmacharini
  • Chandraghanta
  • Kushmanda
  • Skandmata
  • Katyayani
  • Kaalratri
  • Mahagauri
  • Siddhidatri

Goddess Shailputri (शैलपुत्री)

Goddess Shailputri
Mata Shailputri

Goddess Shailputri is the first of nine forms of Durga. Shailputri means the daughter of the mountains. In Sanskrit putri means daughter and shail means mountains.

She is the daughter of Hemavana; the king of the Himalayas. Goddess Shailputri is the purest incarnation of Durga and the mother of nature.

She rides a bull, holds a trident which denotes the past, present, future and a lotus which denotes purity and devotion.

Goddess Brahmacharini (ब्रह्मचारिणी)

Goddess Brahmacharini
Mata Brahmacharini

The Goddess Brahmacharini is the second of nine forms of Durga. Brahmacharini means one who practices penance.

In Sanskrit Brahma means penance and Charini means a female follower. She enlightens us in the illustrious incarnation of Durga with great powers and divine compassion.

She bestows happiness, peace, prosperity and compassion. She holds a rosary beads in her right hand and an oblong water pot (Kamandalu) in her left hand. 

The meditative incarnation goddess Brahmacharini represents Parvati when she engaged in her deep meditation to please Lord Shiva.

Goddess Chandraghanta (चंद्रघंटा)

Goddess Chandraghanta
Mata Chandraghanta

The Goddess Chandraghanta is the third of nine forms of Durga. Chandraghanta means one who has a crescent moon shaped like a bell.

She rides a Lion; she is in golden bright color. She has ten arms, each holding weapon.

Chandraghanta incarnation of Durga protects from evils, physical sufferings, mental distress and ghostly obstacles and bestows peace, stability and prosperity to her devotees. She endows her adorer elegance and bravery.

Goddess Kushmanda (कुष्मांडा)

Goddess Kushmanda
Mata Kushmanda

The Goddess Kushmanda is the fourth of nine forms of Durga. Kushmanda means creator of the universe. In her name Ku means little, Ushma means wramth and Amnda means egg.

It is believed that Goddess Kushmanda created the universe with her divine smile.

She rides a lion and she has eight arms in which she holds weapon, glitter, a rosary. Kushmanda incarnation of Durga brought light to the dark cosmos. She endows health, wealth and courage to her devotees.

Goddess Skandmata (स्कंदमाता)

Goddess Skandmata
Mata Skandmata

The Goddess Skandmata is the fifth of nine forms of Durga. In Vedic scriptures Skanda is another name used for Kartikeya and Mata means mother.

She carries little Skanda on her lap. She has four arms in which she holds little Skanda and one hand is in the gesture of blessing and other two hands are holding lotus flower.

Skandmata incarnation of Durga is pure and divine nature. She bestows salvation, power and prosperity to her devotees.

Goddess Katyayani (कात्यायनी)

Goddess Katyani
Mata Katyayani

The Goddess Katyayani is the sixth of nine forms of Durga. She is the daughter of sage Katyayan. Katyayani incarnation of Durga is furious, a fit of divine rage and anger, also known as warrior goddess.

She is terrifying. Her body glows radiantly to eliminate darkness. She has four arms in which she holds weapon and sword. She rides a lion.

Goddess Katyayani bestows inner peace and a sense of calm to her devotees.    

Goddess Kaalratri (कालरात्रि)

Goddess Kaalrati
Mata Kaalratri

The Goddess Kaalratri is the seventh of nine forms of Durga. Another name is Shubhamkari which means ‘one who does good’.

Kaalratri incarnation of Durga destroys ignorance and removes darkness. She is terrifying; her body is dark colored with tangled hair.

She shoots flame from her mouth. She rides a donkey. She has three eyes and four arms in which she holds spiked club and a dagger.

Goddess Kaalratri bestows her devotees’ protection from darkness, destroys all evil forces around them and make them fear from fear.

Goddess Mahagauri (महागौरी)

Goddess Mahagauri
Mata Mahagauri

The Goddess Mahagauri is the fifth of eighth forms of Durga. Mahagauri means “extremely white,” refers to her luminous beauty, which radiates from her body.

Mahagauri incarnation of Durga has unfailing power and instantaneously fruitful.

She is intelligent, peaceful and calm. She rides a bull; she has four arms in which she holds trident and Damroo. She bestows blessings and sanctifies all the past, present and future sins of her adorer.

Goddess Siddhidatri (सिद्धिदात्री)

Goddess Siddhidatri
Mata Siddhidatri

The Goddess Siddhidatri is the ninth of nine forms of Durga. Siddhidatri means “giver of supernatural power”.

Siddhidatri incarnation of Durga defines perfection. Goddess Siddhidatri is worshiped by all deities.

She rides lion and she has four arms in which she is holding a trident, a disc, a conch shell and a lotus. She bestows blessings of wisdom, insight and all siddhis to her devotees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *